• The Sleeping Years


We’re Becoming Islands One By One”

‘We’re becoming islands one by one’ is the debut album by Dale Grundle’s new project The Sleeping Years. Recorded in London, it follows on from the successful trilogy of EPs released in 2007.

Born in Coleraine, Northern Ireland, Dale started his first band Catchers while at school. Their debut album ‘Mute’ was recorded with Mike Hedges in France and released on Setanta Records. Dale went on to tour with Pulp, Edwyn Collins, The Divine Comedy, Dr. John and Oasis. Catchers recorded their second album ‘Stooping to Fit’ with Nick Drake’s arranger Robert Kirby.

The Sleeping Years’ music has been featured on BBC Radio 1’s Introducing, in the Guardian writers’ playlist and on a cover mount with Rolling Stone magazine. Dale has also been heavily played on Gideon Coe’s BBC 6music show and on French radio – with each EP being championed by Bernard Lenoir.

On ‘We’re becoming islands one by one’ Dale sings and plays guitar on most songs, but he also takes on the bass, piano, Hammond organ, Rhodes piano and e-bow parts. Michelle So joins him on cello and piano and Tom Page from Rothko plays the drums. Ben Eshmade guests on French horn. All hand claps and foot stomps on ‘Macosquin, Coleraine’ and ‘Islands’ are shared by the band.

We’re Becoming Islands One By One

Album , CD
Tal-038 — 2008